Perception at the Crossroads.

I mean could art really be the stimulus needed for social change or does the power solely lie in with the perception of media consumers. Over the course of history and even my lifetime I suppose media has proven it is quite capable of shaping and molding perspectives. Subsequently giving rise to communities and societies. Take for instance Food Inc. I saw the documentary about three years ago and since then I haven’t consumed animal products and probably won’t do so until I’m in apposition to rear my own. Does this mean I’m impressionable? Or is this simply the interaction of the algorithms and human innovation to steer and direct the sentiments of others? Perhaps it’s a little of both. And until this point, I had not the slightest clue of how difficult it could be to design this affect and elicit a response from consumers. Does it depend on the emotional predisposition of consumers that dictate how they perceive art, which would give rise to a reaction, which may be either passive or active. As mundane as some lines may seem or as minute and almost none existing algorithms with just numbers may seem to be benign, it’s completely mind boggling that collections of these could serve as the foundation of visually stimulating and almost impairing works of art that shape our judgment. I’m building my website and I feel as though I’m having an outright confrontation with this conundrum. How to resonate with my viewer’s psyche.

Does the fixed and arranged nature of our work remain persist beyond production and into the state of consumption? Though I suppose we must make a conscious effort to uproot our media object from it’s established frame and distort the already given perspective. But even after all of that has been accomplished, is it really all up to chance that your intentions are guaranteed to strike a cord with those who view and experience your art? Incorporating the elements of involved in media processing with human agency.

Also, I feel as though how I perceive media has shifted a bit since becoming more familiar with markup languages and understanding the function and design of software. But I also feel as though it has highlighted inherent discrepancies in the ability for persons to perceive at in the same way. For example, chapters such as ethno computing in Software Studies: A Lexicon illuminate the issue that there is in fact not only unequal accessibility to software but also the use ay differ as well according to culture and society. We all have different uses technology. From which the type of technology and even art that comes out our societies are reflective of such.

So while you may design the affect of art, could its real affect be purely dependent on the consumer despite the intentions of the producer? It might be.

~ by mmj306 on October 19, 2014.

Leave a Reply

