Lexicon for a Dream

3:35 A.M.
Yes. I’m awake.

This would be due to my horrid sleeping schedule (that probably requires a lot ofalarm explaining…).

Welcome to my nightly ritual; I spend a long time carefully planning out my sleep or the semi-sleep by… setting up alarms EVERY 30 MINUTES throughout the whole night. Okay, so I think my neighbours hate me. I mean the walls are super thin and all… ‘PLEASE let them be deep sleepers…’

l4xttov

Now, before you judge my love-hate relationship with sleep, let me attempt to explain my reasoning behind this bizarre, somewhat self-harming (do not try this at home, kids) habit of mine. This multi-alarm tactic is designed to purposefully disrupt my sleep. It may have to do with some sort of anxiety but I’m not too sure why I do this either. I’m trying to fix my bad habit but before I get rid of it, let this be my time to now open up to others about this.

I believe that our brains are the software of our bodies, the machines. Now that would make our brain waves or thoughts the algorithms. I like to believe that our algorithms help us process and compute our thoughts but also helps us interact with other humans and non-human things. When we sleep, our algorithms/our thoughts tend to become more abstract – this in my opinion, is when we are the most creative, a.k.a. when we dream. We input an immense amount of code (thoughts, ideas, information) into our software everyday. For me, dreaming is like my codec where I get to compile, decode, figure out problems, put things together etc.

You see, I am a lucid dreamer.

tumblr_mdrebon0zk1rofwkio1_1280

I lucid dream. I guess you could get a basic understanding through the Inception movie. But no. I did not start lucid dreaming after watching the movie. It has always been something I could do even as a child.tumblr_nukcofxprn1u5gtpvo8_r3_400

It’s very hard to describe what lucid dreaming is like to non-lucid dreamers and even to other people that lucid dream. Each person has a different experience.

So, when I dream, I’ll at one point, find a glitch. Yes, the glitch we read about. Something will go wrong in my dream, like a very obvious mistake that will allow me to understand that that moment is not reality. For example, one of the most frequent glitches in my dream as a child was when my dog, Biscuit who passed away, appeared. When that happens, I gain access to the different buttons that can control my mind. They aren’t physical buttons I can press but more like the ones on touch screens. I activate a button to zoom in or zoom out, and that action will take place.

Since I use my dream like a codec, growing up, this was my primary go-to in order to do problem solving. The different logic and dimensions that exist in dreaming allowed me to have a new perspective towards a struggle I was having during the day. As I gained more understanding and control growing up, I realized that I could use this towards my advantage. The alarms I set every 30 minutes work as a glitch that will either facilitate my lucid dreaming and eventually jolt me awake.tumblr_mk4reyo2k81s25mbxo1_400

When I wake up mid-dream, I get access to some of my most abstract algorithms (thoughts, minds), which I believe brings out a new sort of creativity or way of thinking. Maybe this all makes no sense and only I can understand it. Who knows? Normally all my thoughts are made of visuals and different senses (such as feelings, colours, sounds, smells…) and it can be hard for me to translate them into words.

But a virus can produce a rare beauty and infection can be creative too.
tumblr_mjru1n7v1h1rhzysfo1_500

– Jungmoon Gong

~ by jmgong on February 22, 2016.

10 Responses to “Lexicon for a Dream”

  1. Style: Your post was really, super thought-provoking. I love the media that you included because it fit well with the topics that you covered. I also liked how seamlessly you integrated your own personal habits/routines with the text because it gave an insight not only to you as a person and a blogger but also to the text from a perspective that I wouldn’t have otherwise experienced.

  2. Style: I like the post’s title (alluding to Requiem for a Dream, I presume). I also like the approach that you took to relate your personal experiences to the reading. The visuals were on point with every topic that you brought up, and I thought that it was just a very, as the above comment mentioned, thought-provoking with your blog voice shining above all else.

  3. Style: I really enjoyed the metaphors you used throughout your post, using the software terms in a more understandable way through the idea of sleep and your experience as a lucid dreamer. It is structured in a way that any person, regardless of background knowledge on software terms could understand the content.

  4. Style – Love how you used a blog voice. Started off with the 3.35 Am part and really got in your head, and BTW, woahhh it’s so cool that you can lucid dream! Anyway, I like how you have this conversation going on in your post and the gifs are really eye-catching and go with your post well..

  5. BEST STYLE! First of all, I think your post has a really good blog voice. And I love how you started off with your sleeping schedule and made the argument that our brains are the softwares of our bodies – great metaphor! I also really like the way you connect your dream with glitch, codec, algorithm, etc. It feels very natural to me yet you’ve done a great job of including some of the main chapters of the reading. nice work 🙂

  6. Style/(another content)- I’m going to say style here, but I also really really really love the ideas you bring up about disruption, infection, and the break from the decided norm. It’s not just a stylistically varied and eye-catching piece (it is that as well) but I was fascinated by the melding of your experiences as a lucid dreamer, and how your ‘glitch’ allows you to think and dissect the lucid dream of being awake differently. It also gets at our own different forms of processing that are not linguistic or visualized, similar to the processing forms of machines and computers. You bring up this huge mind-bending disconnect between our “algorithms” and our “translations” of thought that even you admitted to having trouble with dealing with. And alas, we try to bridge these gaps everyday. Brilliant stuff!

  7. Content: I absolutely love how you connected the themes/chapters to lucid dreaming. I honestly did not fully grasp the concept of algorithm until reading your post. I am still in shock at how well you were able to integrate the ideas in the book to the idea of lucid dreaming. The flow and use of metaphors in this post was on point. Everything came together in a way that was incredibly simple to understand while also being enjoyable to read. Good job!

  8. Best Overall: I felt your post on an extremely personal level that offered a glimpse into how you connect with the essence of the reading. Your interpretation was able to showcase an ability to use your intelligence to warp and fully experience a way of biological computing.

  9. Content: This is an excellent example of relating the readings to real-life experiences. First of all, this is the most interesting thing/concept/ life-style I’ve ever heard of. I appreciate your candidness in this post and how you were able to convey such a complex idea in a way that made me want to keep reading. Second, your explanation of algorithms, etc. made the concepts from the reading so much clearer. Awesome post!

  10. Overall: I love this so damn much! I love your honest and modest voice, and your ambivalent attitude towards your experiences. I love how the topics, the text and your anecdote, don’t seem to mesh well, but are actually so cohesive together. I love how the images help me conceptualize something that I have absolutely no idea about, and I love how I learned something really intriguing while reading this.

Leave a Reply

